History of the Regional Female Calypso Competition

The first female calypso show was organised by the Pacesetters in the 80s.

In 2006, Euphony Vibes, a team comprising Paul Lewis, Earl “Accident” Sullivan, and Eddie “Prynce” Duberry rebooted the initiative as a local female-only show. The competition was held annually until 2010.

In 2011, they reimagined the show as a regional female competition.

In 2014, the Montserrat Arts Council took over management of the competition.

Over the years, there have been competitors from: Anguilla, Antigua & Barbuda, Barbados, British Virgin Islands, Grenada, St. Kitts, St. Lucia. St. Maarten, St. Thomas, St. Vincent, Trinidad & Tobago, and Montserrat.

Regional Female Calypso Monarchs

2019 – Karene Asche (Trinidad & Tobago)

2018 – Thalia (Antigua & Barbuda)

2017 – Karene Asche (Trinidad & Tobago)

2016 – Chrystal Cummings-Beckles (Holder) (Barbados)

2014 – Chrystal Cummings-Beckles (Holder) (Barbados)

2012 – Chrystal Cummings-Beckles (Holder) (Barbados)

2011 – Menel (St. Lucia)